Florida’s Education Report Card Grades Lawmakers on Commitment to ...

Florida’s Education Report Card Grades Lawmakers on Commitment to Student-Centered Policy

Thursday, June 29, 2017

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Today, the Foundation for Florida’s Future released Florida’s 2017 Education Report Card, which grades legislators on their efforts to improve access to a quality education in the Sunshine State.

“Thanks to the leadership and courageof our legislative champions, Florida students and their families are thissession’s true winners. We thank Florida's leaders for their dedication toimproving the lives of students through access to a quality education." - Patricia Levesque, Foundation for Florida’s Future Executive Director

Grades are based onlegislators’ voting records and demonstrations of leadership. House and Senatevoting records are calculated in a ratio of favorable votes cast forstudent-centered policies out of the total opportunities to vote on thosepolicies.

This year, lawmakers were graded on many pieces ofeducation-related legislation, including legislation that gives teachers moretime to teach, expands access to a customized education for students withspecial needs, removes barriers to virtual education and opens additionaloptions for disadvantaged students attending low-performing schools.

Along with the Education Report Card, the Foundation for Florida'sFuture also announced its Honor Roll, which recognizes the legislativechampions who took bold action to pass student-centered legislation aimed atimproving the lives and educational outcomes of Florida students and theirfamilies. Their work builds upon the state’s 18-year tradition of continuallyimproving policies that expand educational opportunities for Florida students.

Earning recognition on the Senate Honor Roll:

President Joe Negron, R-Stuart

Senator Dennis Baxley, R-Lady Lake

Senator Aaron Bean, R-Jacksonville

Senator Rob Bradley, R-Orange Park

Senator Daphne Campbell, D-North Miami Beach

Senator Anitere Flores, R-Miami

Senator Bill Galvano, R - Bradenton

Senator Denise Grimsley, R-Lake Placid

Senator Darryl Rouson, D-St. Petersburg

Senator Kelli Stargel, R-Lakeland

Earning a place on the House Honor Roll:

Speaker Richard Corcoran, R-Lutz

Representative Michael Bileca, R-Miami

Representative Colleen Burton, R-Lakeland

Representative Manny Diaz, Jr., R-Hialeah

Representative Byron Donalds, R-Naples

Representative Jason Fischer, R-Jacksonville

Representative Chris Latvala, R-Clearwater

Representative Larry Lee, Jr. D-Fort Pierce

Representative Elizabeth Porter, R-Lake City

Representative Jake Raburn, R-Valrico

Representative Barry Russell, D-Lauderhill

Representative Chris Sprowls, R-Clearwater

Representative Jennifer Sullivan, R-Eustis

By grading lawmakers on a scale of A-F, just like students and schools, Florida’s Education Report Card gives the public a clear and comprehensive assessment of who is keeping the promise of a quality education in the Sunshine State.

For more information and to view all legislator grades, visit Florida’s 2017 Education Report Card.

« Back to Press Releases